Raheny Trio Help Ireland To Seventh Place

The Raheny Shamrock trio of Niamh Fogarty, Eric Favors and Mark Smyth helped Ireland to seventh place and retain their first league status at the European Team Championships in Sandnes, Norway. Ireland took 227 points, one and a half points clear of Romania and retaining their first league status as four teams along with the suspended Russia were relegated to the second league. Niamh Fogarty finished seventh in the discus…


Golden Favors Sets Championship Record

Eric Favors grabbed his first national senior title as he set a shot put championship record on day two of the national championships in Santry. Gold, silver and bronze was the Raheny haul with Favors writing the headlines as his third throw reached the 18.64 metre mark to secure national gold and a championship record. Favors had bettered his first effort of 18.42 metres and for the record was over…


Fogarty Lands National Discus Title On Successful Day One

Niamh Fogarty landed the national discus title with a new personal best and club record of 52.96 metres on day one of the Irish Life Health National Track & Field championships. Fogarty’s first three attempts were all over 51 metres with her sixth and final attempt registering 53.96 metres, some 2.66 metres clear of Tralee Harriers Claire Fitzgerald. While there was silver medals for Brian Fay and Mick Clohisey and…


Dublin Graded Seven Report

Sean Dowling took fifth place in the men’s 200m’s A1 race at the Dublin graded in Santry on Wednesday night posting 23.22 seconds, writes Niall Power. In the B1 race Philip O’Gorman took fourth place 25.14 seconds. In the women’s B race Hannah Byrne won out in 26.74 seconds. While Adrienne Atkins took sixth place in the C race in 31.36 Andrew Hyland finished fifth in the men’s A1 1500m…