Claw’s Three In A Row For Dublin’s No.8

Mick Clohisey made it a hat-trick of senior Dublin titles as he led the senior men’s to three in a row in the Dublin championship.

Clohisey made it three in a row at the Dublin championships with Conor Dooney taking silver for the second year running.

Dublin novice champion Eoin Strutt came home in fourth place just two seconds behind bronze medallist Killian Mooney of DSD with Mark Kirwan fifth.

Cillian O’Leary grabbed eighth place with Ian Conroy coming home 16th and giving the senior men’s team an untouchable 36 points, some 72 points clear of silver medallists DSD.

This is now the eighth time the Dublin senior cross country title been won by the Shamrock’s. The previous victories were 1965, 2002, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

There were other good performances from the Shamrock men, Feidhlim Kelly took 22nd place, Brian Leahy 24th, Simon Ryan 27th, Kevin Moriarty 28th, Joe O’Donoghue 30th.

Rory O’Sullivan 39th and Donal Foley 47th a very impressive display by the club in Santry.

There was success all around on Dublin athletics big day, the women’s senior team took bronze led home by Fiona Stack in 14th place.

Karen Crossan was one place behind in 15th place, Laura Brennan took 21st place and Orla Manley took 22nd place for bronze with 72 points.

Blathin Sheil took 24th and Aisling Ahern was 32nd, for the record DSD took gold with 16 points followed by Crusaders with 50 points.

The junior men also landed bronze, led home by David Brophy in seventh place followed by Eoin O’Dwyer 16th, Andrew Hyland 17th and youngster Dylan Evenden 28th for 68 points.

Clonliffe won out with 17 points as DSD took second with 30 points, Raheny were over 30 points clear of Lucan Harriers.

The junior women took silver with Ailish Murtagh just three seconds off bronze and the entire team finishing in the top 10.

Niamh Corry took sixth place with Susie O’Flynn eighth and Lucy Barrett ninth, just five points separated Raheny from gold, which went to DSD.