National Medals and Records on Day 2

Club Records fell and eight medals were collected on day two of the National track and field championships in Santry

Eric Favors took silver while breaking Liam Kennedy’s 37-year-old shot putt record of 15.24 metres. Favors best throw coming in the final round and measuring 16.45 metres.

Galway City Harriers Sean Breathnach took gold with a best of 17.53 metres.

Favors followed then took bronze in the discus and in doing so took a second club record of the day.

Favors best throw of 50.26 metres, coming in round five broke Brendan Kelly’s record of 44.12 metre record set in 1983.

For the record, Marco Pons of DMP took gold with a best of 53.67 metres with Eoin Sheridan of North Westmeath taking silver with a best of 53.45 metres, while Daniel Beveridge took 11th place with a best of 29.55 metres.

Colm Bourke won silver in the long jump with a best of 7.40 metres. Unfortunately, the wind reading was +3.6 m/s rules his jump invalid for a club record.

While Matthew Cotter jumped 6.40 metres to finished 10th.

On the track medals followed as well, defending 5,000 metre champion Conor Dooney put up a brave defence of his title, pushing the pace from early on.

Ryan Forsyth of Newcastle & Dristrict eventually taking gold in 14:30.78, a split second clear of Hiko Tonosa.

Dooney collected bronze in 14:42.43.

Iseult O’Donnell ran a tactical race to secure bronze, firstly tailing Ciara Mageean, before accelerating on the back straight, eventually passing Alannah Lally on the straight to take bronze in 2:10.04.

Aoibhinn McGoldrick pushed the pace with the leaders for 500 metres, finishing sixth in 2:13.75.

Brandon Arrey took 400 metre silver posting 47.43, with Christopher O’Donnell of North Sligo taking gold in 46.92.

Arrey later took the final leg of the men’s 4×400 men’s, bringing them to within 8/100ths of a second of a medal.

The other relay team members were Jamie Sheridan, Connall O’Toole and Dylan Kirwan. Their final time was 3:21.12

Kieran Kelly pushed hard in the 1500 to win bronze in 3:48.68.

Brian Fay took fourth place in 3:49.15.

The women’s team collected 4×400 metres to win silver in a time of 4:06.57. The team were led off by Lucy Barrett, Aoibhinn McGoldrick, Ailish Murtagh and finally Iseult O’Donnell.

Also competing today were Liam Sheehan posting 12.09 in 100m, Orla Comerford 12.84 over 100m, Laura Fallon with 2.50 in Pole Vault, Daniel Beveridge with 29.55 in Discus.

Unfortunately Michael Farrelly dashed off in the 100 heat and was DQ for a false start.