Silver Smyth Bronze Arrey, Fay And Kelly

Mark Smyth wrapped a silver lining on the national indoor championships as Brandon Arrey, Brian Fay and Kieran Kelly all grabbed bronze statues.

Mark Smyth took silver in the 200 metres after a blistering return to the track.

Smyth opened his campaign taking second in his heat in 21.84. Then running a blistering lap to taking silver in the final in 21.64 seconds just point 22 seconds behind former British underage international Leon Reid.

While, Brian Fay took bronze in the 3,000 metres clocking 8:10.10, just three seconds off the gold medal. Gold had gone to John Travers in 8:07.89 and silver to Paul Robinson in 8:09.79.

Brandon Arrey took bronze in what was a dramatic 400 metre final. Arrey started his campaign winning his 400 metre heat in 48.33 seconds.

There was drama at half-way in the 400 metre final, when the scurry between Andrew Mellon, Cillin Greene and Brandon Arrey saw Thomas Barr edged off the pace.

With Barr not finishing following the skirmish, Arrey showed maturity to run his own race, which was won by Galway City Harriers Cillin Greene in 47.19 seconds with Andrew Mellon taking silver in 48.02 seconds.

Arrey coming home in third place in 48.15 seconds for bronze ahead of a former British international in fourth place.

Meanwhile Kieran Kelly returned to the podium in the 1500 metres, where he took bronze.

Kelly opened his campaign finishing second in his heat in 4:05.84. In the same heat Kevin Moriarty took third place in 4:05.90 and Andrew Hyland sixth in 4:11.28.

Kelly battle hard throughout the 1500 metres to take bronze with gold going to Clonliffe’s Eoin Pearce in 3:55.54 with Eoin Everard second in 3:55.79.

Kelly taking bronze in 3:56.48 well clear of Shane Fitzsimons in fourth place. Kevin Moriarty took seventh place in 3:59.49.

Cillian Kirwan was just outside the medals in the 800 metres taking fourth 1:55.78, two seconds off bronze, which went to Ratoath’s Conor Duncan who clocked 1:53.00. Mark English winning out in 1:51.77.

Kirwan had finished third in his 800 metre heat in 1:54.30.

Elsewhere, Aoibhinn McGoldrick took fourth place in her 800 metre heat in 2:19.27.

In the 60 metre sprint Sean O’Driscoll finished third in his heat in 7.10 seconds with Liam Sheehan sixth in 7.67 seconds.

O’Driscoll progressed to Sunday’s semi-final where he took fifth place in seven seconds, which saw him progress to the final where he clocked 6.99 seconds for seventh place.

Yuki Ishidi posted 24:39.59 in the 5,000 metre walk.

In the pole vault Aislinn Mumford finished seventh with a best of 2.75 metres.