Road Relay Men Make It Four-In-A-Row

The Raheny Shamrock men made it four-a-row as they camptured a 10th national road relay title on home ground this afternoon.

The Raheny quartet of Kieran Kelly, Cillian Kirwan, Kevin Dooney and Brian Fay were off to a strong start.

Kevin Dooney was in the lead on the three mile leg, however John Travers put in a sensational leg to post a record of 13:55.

This lap equates to 5 kilometres on the course as Travers sent Eric Keogh off into the lead on the last two mile leg.

Brian Fay wasn’t beaten though and closed in on the Donore harrier, eventually stretching it out with Keogh hanging in gamely.

Fay had too much speed at the finish and made it four senior men’s titles in-a-row for Raheny.

For the record of Clonliffe Harriers took bronze behind Donore Harriers.

The men’s B team of Andrew Hyland, Dylan O’Brien, Donal Foley and Simon Deveney finished in 15th place.

The senior women’s were just outside the medals just 16 second separating North Down’s silver from a Raheny bronze medal.

The team of Aoibhinn McGoldrick, Iseult O’Donnell and Lucy Barret just off the medals with Donore Harriers taking gold and Dublin City Harriers taking bronze.

The senior B women’s team of Camille Mortamet, Orla Manley and Blaithin Sheil finished in 14th place.

While the master’s women’s W35 team of Sarah Quigley, Zoe Quinn and Helen Carr took bronze. The B team of Nikki Mooney, Brid Ni Chonail and Maura Lynskey finished 13th.

There was gold and silver for the women’s W50, the A team of Adrienne Atkins, Annette Kealy and Orla Gormley took gold in 23:49 which was fifth overall in the masters race.

The B team of Fiona Kirwan, Rose Kidd and Caroline Farrelly secured silver, well clear of Lucan Harriers. The C team of Mary Lynch, Deirdre O’Dwyer and Mary Purdue Smyth finished fifth.

There was heartbreak for the men’s masters 35 team of Will Walsh, Michael McMahon took fourth place, just two seconds off Cork outfit St.Finbarrs.

The B team of Dave Kirwin, Rory O’Sullivan and Wes Grant finished 13th and the C team of Andy Kelly, Alan McCarthy and Niall Power finished 22nd.

There was silver for the men’s masters 50 team of Peter Smith, Des Kennedy and Mick Traynor took silver with the b team of Mick Gygax, Mick Keogh and Sean O’Hanlon finished sixth with the C team finished 10th, the team of Dave Feeney, Philip McGovern and Gay Byrne.