Hiko Tonosa Wins 2020 AXA Raheny 5

Hiko Tonosa won the 2020 AXA Raheny Five, the most competitive in the races history.

Tonosa shook off Hugh Armstrong and Matt Bergin coming onto the home straight to land the title in 22 minutes 40 seconds just one second off the course record.

Armstrong took second place in 22:41, Bergin third 22:43 with Efem Gidey four in 22:43 and Yared Derse fifth in 22:45.

In the most dramatic Raheny Five the first athletes were inseparable with 400 metres remaining, a trip by Gidey added drama as Armstrong and Tonosa made their move for home.

It was Tonosa who made his move on the back straight to power home for victory.

The fastest road race in Ireland saw 15 athletes break 24 minutes!

Fionnuala McCormack won the women’s race in 25 minutes 55 seconds just five seconds clear of last years winners Ann-Marie McGlynn.

Ciara Hickey of Brothers Pearse took third place in 26:50.

Full results are available on our race partner My Run Results