Mark Smyth Wins National 200m Indoor Title

Mark Smyth landed his first national senior title when he scorched around Abbotstown to the national 200m indoor title.

Smyth set a new personal best and club record posting 21.04 seconds to claim the title, point 69 seconds ahead of Donore Harriers Paul McDermott.

The time moves Mark Smyth to fifth on the Irish all-time list!

21-year-old Smyth had set a new personal best in the heats, stopping the clock at 21.37 seconds to win his heat and qualify automatically for the final.

Smyth becomes the 31st Raheny Shamrock athlete to claim a national senior title and the sixth athlete to win an indoor title.

Elsewhere Conall O’Toole just missed out on the 200m final when he finished second in heat six posting 23.07 seconds with Liam Sheehan posting 25.78 seconds in heat seven.

Brandon Arrey qualified for the 400m final winning heat six in 48.51 seconds. Oisin McCorry just missed out on the final finishing second in heat two in 51.49.

Brian Fay strode in the 1500m final winning the second semi-final in 4:01.06. While Cillian Kirwan make the 800m final winning heat three in 1:52.06.

Also through to their 800m is Iseult O’Donnell clocking 2:12.08 in heat one to finish third and qualify for the final as the fastest loser.

Also on the track Aoibhinn McGoldrick finished 12th in the 3,000m final in 10:30.46 and in the triple jump Matthew Cotter took eighth place with a best of 12.85m.

Make your way down to the National indoor arena in Abbotstown tomorrow and support our athletes in their finals, action gets underway at 11:45am with the final race set for 20 past four.