Clohisey Leads Raheny Home At Dublin Marathon

Mick Clohisey landed the 2018 National Marathon title taking sixth place in the Dublin marathon in two hours 15 minutes 58 seconds.

Clohisey time makes him the fastest national marathon champion since Tommy Hughes in 1991 as he becomes the third Raheny Shamrock man to win the national marathon title.

“It was my First time to run Dublin, the home town” explained Clohiesy. “I was really looking forward to this Marathon”.

“I got stuck in early on, it was quite a slow start but then eventually the lads started to pick it up after we left the park” added Clohisey.

“I managed to reel off about six or seven lads from about 18 miles on, so I just kept focusing ahead. I felt strong, one or two tough patches as always but I enjoyed the atmosphere along the course, some of the areas and crowds are just brilliant and you have in your head that it’s a nice finish so it gives you confidence.”

“I really enjoyed it and happy to get the National title as well” added Clohisey who collected his seventh national title.

Clohisey also claims the Pat Quinn Cup for first Raheny Shamrock man home as well as the Dublin County and Leinster championship titles.

Mark Kirwan ran a storming second half to finish just outside the national medals in 10th place overall, posting 2:17:36, just eight seconds off national bronze.

Cillian O’Leary was next Raheny man home in 2:24.35, giving the men’s team a total of 6:57.10, unofficially silver and just 3 minutes and 42 seconds off gold.

Tara Kennedy was the first Raheny woman home in two hours 56 minutes 26 seconds, landing the Pat Quinn Cup for the second time.

Full results of all Raheny Athlete’s available here

Final championship medals in all categories to be confirmed by Dublin Athletics, Athletics Leinster and Athletics Ireland.