Becker And O’Donnell Set Club Records

Sophie Becker and Iseult O’Donnell set new club records at the Irish Life Health Elite Athlete Micro Meet in Abbotstown today.

Becker was first up on day two of racing, an event that was invite only and limited to athlete’s with a chance of qualifying for next month European Indoor championships in Torun, Poland.

Becker broke well from the gun to take second in the 400 metres in 53.20 seconds breaking Susan Scallan’s five-year-old record and taking the qualifying standard for next month’s Euro’s.

Phil Healy won the race outright in 51.99 seconds with Sharlene Mawdsley third in 53.56 also inside the European qualifying time.

For the third week in a row Iseult O’Donnell set a new club 800m indoor record when finishing third in 2:02.29 taking .98 seconds off her club record set last week.

Georgie Hartigan of DSD and Louise Shanahan of Leevale injected the speed on the back straight with Hartigan winning out in 2:01.48 with Shanahan clocking 2:01.67, the top three all scoring personal bests and the European qualifying time.

This result will cause a bit of a headache for the Irish team selectors, just three athlete’s can be entered per country per event.

Nadia Power the national record holder is a certain to be selected, the other two places will have to be decided on form.

Mark Smyth was the third Raheny athlete to be invited to the meet taking part in the 60 metre and Saturday’s 200m.

Smyth posted 6.89 seconds to finish fifth in his second race of the day over 60 metre’s. The electronic timing giving St Laurence O’Toole’s Marcus Lawler fourth place clocking 6.89.889 for Lawler to 6.89.890 to Smyth.

Smyth had posted 6.92 seconds for sixth place in race one, the electronic timing giving fifth place to Marcus Lawler who clocked 6.92.914 to Smyth’s 6.92.918.

On Saturday Smyth finished in third place in the 200 metres posting 21.41 seconds.

The Irish team is expected to be announced on Monday, Sophie Becker (400m), Iseult O’Donnell (800m) and Brian Fay (1500m/3000m) all have the relevant qualifying times.

Best wishes to the three athletes.