Mick Clohisey wins Belfast Marathon

Mick Clohisey landed his second national marathon title when he won the 2021 Belfast Marathon in 2:20.42.

Clohisey who last won the national marathon title in 2018 was clear at half-way and posted a 2:20.42 having done all the hard work.

Clohisey’s won out by two minutes and six seconds over City of Derry’s Kyle Dohery who posted 2:22.48. Bronze went to Colin Heron of Keep Er Lit Running (a real club!)  in 2.27.25.

There were very good runs in Belfast with four athlete’s breaking the three hour barrier Eoin Keegan 2:50.13, Eirc Champ 2:50.53, Terry Keogh 2:53.47 and Barry Lennon 2:56.05.

While also competing very well over the marathon distance were Carmel Ward 3:08.26, Shirley Coyle 3:09.32, Lisa McCarthy 3:27.36, Angela Charlton 4:21.52, Rachel Moran 4:50.01 and Ciaran O’Coigligh 5:18.14.

N.B. Contrary to statement on Athletics Ireland website, there is no team championship in this years marathon.