Raheny Rule The Dublin Masters Cross Country

It was another great day in the history of Raheny Shamrock Athletic Club as the club landed 10 gold, five silver and five bronze.

The haul saw the club land the inaugural Pat Hooper Cup as the most successful club at the championship.

In the women’s race there were gold medals for Adrienne Atkins (0/55), Mary Lynch (O/70). Silver for Sarah Quigley (O/40), Orla Gormley (O/55), Jean Dunne (O/60) and Patricia Lorigan (O/65).

Bronze Zoe Quinn (O/45), Brid NiChonaill (O/50), Trish Fitzgerald (O/55), June Cumiskey (O/70).

The women’s O/50 team of Brid NiChonaill, Lorraine Byrne and Adrienne Atkins took gold. While the O/65 team of Mary Lynch, Patricia Lorigan and June Cumiskey also took gold.

Mick Clohisey won the men’s race outright on his debut at the masters grade and claimed the O/35 gold. Ciaran McCarthy took gold in the O/45 category.

Gold also went to Tom Loftus O/65 and Pat Timmons O/70.

Silver went to Ian Conroy O/40 and bronze to Gary Aylward in the O/60 category.

Zoe Quinn was the first Raheny woman home in ninth place followed by Sarah Quigley, Aoife O’Connor, Brid NiChonaill, Lorraine Byrne, Adrienne Atkins, Orla Gormley, Louise Keogh.

Trish Fitzgerald, Helen Carr, Annmarie Woods, Caitriona Costello, Berndatte Bruen, Jenny Colbert, Rachel Ormrod, Aileen Cooke.

Ciara NiBhroin, Patricia O’Cleirigh, Nora Byrne, Jean Dunne, Michelle Carey, Denise Kelleher, Sinead McArdle, Deirdre O’Dwyer, Mary Purdue-Smyth.

Catherine Groves, Melanie Hearns, Sarah O’Neill, Angela Charlton, Paula Bradley, Orla McElhinney, Bernie Kearns, Brighid Smyth, Patricia Lorigan, Adrienne Kennedy, Rose McCaul, June Cumiskey.

Rachel Moran, Zara Rogers and Anne Reede.

In the men’s race Mick Clohisey took first place followed by Ian Conroy ninth and followed by Mark Kirwan, David Kirwan and Ciaran McCarthy.

They were followed by Graham Ahearne, John Dunne, Brian Leahy, Terry Keogh, Eric Champ, John Clarke, Andy Kelly, Eoin Connolly, Damien Martin, Niall Power.

Peter Rogan, Gary Aylward, Michael McEnery, Will Walsh, Darrel Reamsbottom, Keith Fleming, Sean Honan, Dave Woods, Paul Waugh, John Clohisey, Mick Kehoe, Ruairi McArdle.

Roberto Romano, Dave Feeney, Ken Shannon, Eamonn Traynor, Denis Murphy, Robert Walsh, Hugh Cronin, Tommy Crampton, Brian Cotter, Kevin O’Donnell, David O’Hara, Paul Curtayne.

Nick Alexander, Colm Cahill Brian Hanney, Tom Loftus, Christy Reilly, Pat Timmons, Mick Martin and Ciaran O’Coigligh.

The men’s O/35 team of Mick Clohisey, Ian Conroy, Mark Kirwan and David Kirwan took gold.

The O/65 team of Tom Loftus, Christy Reilly and Pat Timmons took gold with six points to spare on Civil Service. The men’s O/50 team were just outside the medals finishing in fourth place.

The final result saw Raheny lift the Pat Hooper cup with a total of 49 points, six points clear of Clonliffe Harriers with Sportsworld third a further four points back.

Pat’s daughter Bronagh Hooper presents the Pat Hooper cup.