Niamh Kearney Wins Dublin Cross Country

Niamh Kearney won the Dublin senior cross-country championship leading Raheny to team bronze!

Kearney ran a very strong race particularly over the final lap to win out by some seven seconds from DSD’s Meghan Ryan. Faye Dervan of Dublin City Harriers took bronze.

Kearney becomes the first Raheny athlete to win the Dublin cross country championship since Orla O’Mahoney in 2008.

Aisling Ahern eighth, Lucy Barrett 11th, Ailish Murtagh 22nd combined to take bronze with 42 points. DCH took gold with 20 points and DSD took silver with 37 points.

The men’s team took a very impressive silver with 50 points. Gavin Eccles was first home in eighth place with Juan Ignacio Pena in 12th, Stephen Fay 13th and Daniel Stone 17th.

A very strong Clonliffe team took gold in this one with 19 points with DSD taking bronze with 57 points.

The team were backed up by Dylan O’Brien (22nd), Robert Frewen (24th), Kevin Moriarty (25th), Cillian O’Leary (29th), Eoin Keegan (32nd), Bernard Roe (39th) and Davey Duane (42nd).

Shane Spring took silver in the men’s junior race in a dramatic sprint finish with Louie Woodger of Metro St Brigids taking gold.

Adam Condon just missed out on a medal in fourth place with Dara MacRiocaird taking 17th place.

Ella Beck was first home in the women’s junior race in sixth place, followed by Caroline Kavanagh 15th and Sara Quaresima 21st.