Golden Claw makes it 7th Heaven!

Credit Lindie Naughton
Credit Lindie Naughton

Olympian Mick Clohissey stamped his quality all over the Dublin Senior cross country championship as Raheny Shamrock cleared the boards in the men’s race winning the team title.

Clohissey covered the 10k course in 28 minutes 47 seconds over 30 seconds clear of second place. Second and in fact third place were also green and white singlets.

Conor Dooney grabbed the silver medal with Kevin Dooney holding off Donore Harriers Eric Keogh for bronze to make it a Raheny 1-2-3.

Ian Conroy came home 11th with John Dunne 14th and Michael McMahon 15th to give the men’s team an amazing 46 points, gold medals and also the newly commissioned Padraic Keane cup.

This is the seventh time the men’s team have landed the Dublin senior cross country, the hardest of them all to win as it takes SIX athlete’s to score.

The previous victories were 1965, 2002, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015.

Other Raheny senior men were who performed very strongly were Eoin Strutt 17th, Donal Foley 26th and Rory O’Sullivan 41st.

Donore Harriers took silver with 110 points with DSD bronze with 119.

The victorious men’s team are pictured above with Padraic Keane’s widow Mary Keane presenting the trophy.

The day had started brightly with the junior women securing team gold. The team was in finishing order Ailish Murtagh 6th, Seona O’Keffee 12th, Deirbhile O’Keffee 13th and Aibhe Finnigan 14th.

The junior men’s team led home by Brian Fay in fifth place, Eoin O’Dwyer 13th, David Brophy 17th and Andrew Hyland 24th took bronze.

Donnchadh MacAodha 35th and Glen Atkins 37th were non-scoring team members.

The senior women’s team finished in seventh place in the team event. The team was Karen Crossan 31st, Aine Crimmin 33rd, Laura Brennan 36th and Sarah Quigley 44th. Other finishers where Ellen O’Hanlon 46th, Fiona Nelson 48th and Sarah Hawekshaw 50th

Dundrum South Dublin won out with 26 points and became the first team to take the Jim McNamara trophy.