Becker And Fogarty Claim National Senior Gold

The second day of the national track and field championships was another great day for the club with three gold, two silver one bronze medal captured.

It means the 2024 national track and field championships are the most successful in the clubs history.

Five gold, three silver and two bronze medals giving the Shamrock’s 10 medals!

On day two, Sophie Becker won the 400 metres in a fast 52.68 seconds. Over one second clear of Rachel McCann from North Down to retain her title.

Niamh Fogarty won gold in the discus with a best of 54.64 metres. Fogarty’s winning throw was achieved on the fifth effort.

Back on the track and Cillian Kirwan took silver in the 800 metres. Kirwan put a strong challenge to Mark English before English came home in 1.49.18 for gold.

Kirwan kicked on to take silver in 1:51.08 holding off Kildare’s Robert Hewison.

There was a big silver medal for the men’s 4x400m relay team.

The team of Tinaye Craig Mukanya, Conall O’Toole, Conall Rogers and Brandon Arrey clocked 3:22.11 for silver. Ratoath took gold in 3:21.00 with DSD taking bronze in 3:22.74.

While Niamh Kearney took 3,000m steeplechase bronze in a new club record of 10:17.89. Kearney was just off silver with Tullamore’s Ava O’Connor posting 10:17.47. Leevale’s Michelle Finn won out in 10:05.25.

Elsewhere, ther were some very strong performances as Iseult O’Donnell took fifth place in the 800m final posting 2:07.44.

Whereas, Brandon Arrey took seventh place in the 400 metres posting 48.08 seconds. This race was won by Donore’s Jack Rafferty in 45.95 seconds.

Meanwhile, Orla Comerford took eighth place in the 100 metre final, posting 11.90 seconds. A ran won in a new national record of 11.13 seconds by Rhasidat Adeleke.

Comerford qualified for the final 12.10 seconds in heat one.

In the men’s event Michael Farrelly finished sixth in the final posting 10.65 seconds. Farrelly qualified for the final finishing third in his semi-final in 10.63 seconds. Earlier Farrelly posted 10.90 seconds in his heat.

In the field, Colm Bourke took fifth place in the long jump in 6.97 metres while Daphni Doulaptsi Teeuwen was sixth in the women’s long jump in 5.58 meteres.