History Calls Kelly To Gold

Kieran Kelly made history in the National Indoor Arena when he became the first Raheny Shamrock male to win a 800 metre national senior Indoor title.

In an absorbing and frantic 800 metre battle where Kelly looked to have stumbled out of contention with 350 metres remaining.

The former 400 metre specialist quickly returned to his stride and pushed it to the front of the race with an effective burst down the back straight.

With the bell sounding history had called the 28-year-old forward to power through the final lap and land his first national senior title.

“I was afraid in the last 50 metres I was going to go over” Kelly explained to RTE Sport after the dramatic victory.

“The joy of getting over the line was sensational” Kelly went on, “my first national title after a few fourth and fifth place finishes it’s a thrill to win it and beat two very good athlete’s in Niall Tuohy and Kevin McGrath.”

For the record Kelly won out in 1:56.00 with Kevin McGrath of Bohermeen second in 1:56.22 and Niall Touhy of Ferrybank third in 1:56.53.

Kelly now joins Richie Corcoran and Annette Kealy as the three Raheny Shamrock athlete’s to have claimed National indoor track titles, Kealy having won the 1500 metres in 1995. Corcoran having won the 3,000 metres in 2009.

Zoe Brown twice won the pole vault in 2013 and 14.

In a further twist to Kelly’s tale, Kieran’s coach Brian Corcoran celebrated 50 years ago this week since he first became a member of Raheny Shamrock Athletic Club.

Dublin track club member Daniel Scully put in a brave performance in the 800 metre final to finish seventh in 1:59.89.

The day started brightly from a Raheny view point with Cillian Kirwan taking bronze in the men’s 1500 metre final.

While the race hinged on a battle between two senior Ireland internationals John Travers and Paul Robinson Kirwan ran a cute race to take bronze.

Kirwan moved through the field powering past Finn Valley’s Mark Hoy in the final 70 metres to take bronze in 3:56.65.

Earlier in the day Brian Fay posted 8:51.51 in the 3,000 metres finishing just ahead of Eoin Strutt in 8:51.66 with Eoin O’Dwyer clocking 9:32.85.