Walter McConnell Wins Winter League

Walter McConnell was crowned 2021/22 Winter League champion on Wednesday night on the completion of league with the Raheny Open Mile.

McConnell won division one with 24 points having made solid improvements over the series. McConnell ran all 10 races with the best seven to score.

Peter Rogan took second place with 30 points, another man who ran a solid series throughout the league. Christopher Quaid took third place just one points behind Rogan.

Derek O’Mahony won division two with 73 points having topped the division throughout the league. Orla Gormley took second place with 88 points while Keith Comiskey was third with 126 points. The Open mile being his seventh race of the series.

Denis Murphy took the division three title with an impressive 100 points having made a very good improvement in the second half of the league.

Brian Hanney took second place with 123 points, six points clear of Brian Hanney. Gary Power claimed third place with 129 points clear of Greg O’Beirn in fourth place and Sinead McArdle in fifth.

Deirdre O’Dwyer claimed an impressive victory in division four with 176 points some 18 points clear of Eamonn Dunne in second place.

Dunne claimed second place in the final race finishing in his second best place of the league season. Angela Charlton took third place, 10 points clear of Michelle Donohoe.

Many thanks to everyone who took part in the winter league, great to see good quality races and improvements from everyone.

Especially to Mary Purdue Smyth, Martin Kelly, Christy Reilly, Pauric Hooper, Stephen Brady, Sarah Quigley, Helena Corcoran, Bernie Manley and Ray McCormack and everyone else who helped out during the league.

Final League table

PlaceNameRd1Rd2Rd3Rd4Rd5Rd6Rd7Rd8Rd9Rd10Races RanTotal
1Walter McConnell635565222171025
2Peter Rogan7548443319930
3Christopher Quaid5234232112831
4Keith Fleming677873831846
5Tom Loftus10989986510954
6Brian Cotter12101012128725871
Division 2
PlaceNameRd1Rd2Rd3Rd4Rd5Rd6Rd7Rd8Rd9Rd10Races RanTotal
1Derek O'Mahoney11121111971229873
2Orla Gormley13151518131211915341088
3Keith Comiskey17221613817337126
Division 3
NameRd1Rd2Rd3Rd4Rd5Rd6Rd7Rd8Rd9Rd10Races RanTotal
1Denis Murphy201821191510998100
2Brian Hanney2126232420141411203910123
3Gary Power2221242714111310184210129
4Gregory Paul O'Beirne1923253523231515249142
5Sinead McArdle252825221516137144
6Jenny Colbert2424272917171626489154
7Philip Keogh292726262423127167
8Melanie Hearns28323225201827518182
NameRd1Rd2Rd3Rd4Rd5Rd6Rd7Rd8Rd9Rd10Races RanTotal
1Deirdre O'Dwyer2731313428251918289176
2Angela Charlton3233343832222029559202
3Eamonn Dunne31323537292025468209
4Michelle Donohoe3436413528252133569212
5Ciaran Ó Coigligh3537374034272622329213
6Cathal Mc Ardle333439392619317221
7Stephen Rowe3839404338292823619235
8Patricia Lorigan3938424537322635589249
10Bob Quinn414139312736607275