Golden Masters At Road Relays

The Raheny Shamrock master women’s team were the stars for the host club as the National road relays visited Raheny for the 21st time.

A record field and a huge number of supporters thronged Wades Avenue in beautiful conditions on Sunday.

The championship started with the combined masters women’s race included both the over-35 race and the over-50 race.

The Masters 50 team of Adrienne Atkins, Annette Kealy and Orla Gormley produced a convincing gold medal winning performance in 24:36 some 55 seconds clear of Brothers Pearse with Lucan Harriers taking bronze in 26:19.

The Raheny B team of Nora Byrne, Trish Fitzgerald and Patricia O’Cleirigh just missed out on bronze by 53 seconds.

The masters women’s 35’s produced an excellent performance to take bronze in a very competitive ran the team of Sarah Quigley, Kate Purcell and Zoe Quinn posted 22:44, four second ahead of Brothers Pearse.

A Sportsworld team of Maria Jones, Noreen Brouder and Aoife O’Leary took gold in 21:55 with Finn Valley second in 22:00.

The masters men’s 35 and 50’s was next on the start line with a massive entry of 35 teams.

The A team of Ciaran McCarthy, David Kirwan and Rory O’Sullivan finished in seventh place in 20:26. Gold went to East Cork in 19:28, silver to Brothers Pearse in 19:42 and bronze to Clonliffe in 19:47. Not even 60 seconds separating first and seventh!

The Raheny B team of Eric Champ, Ger Redmond and Andy Kelly finished 12th followed by the Raheny E team in of Eoin Connolly, Bernard Roe and Mick King in 18th place. The C team of Peter Rogan, Conor Aherne and Walter McConnell were 19th and the D team of John Clohisey, Ruairi McArdle and Brian Cotter were 20th.

In the masters 50’s the men came home in fifth place in 23:16. The team was Gary Aylward, Mark McLoughlin and Eamonn Traynor. Gold in this race went to Inishowen in 21:20, silver to Donore Harriers in 22:05 and bronze to Metro St Brigids in 22:40.

The B team of Paul Cotayne, David O’Hara and Keith Fleming were eighth, the C team of Dave Feeney, Keith Comiskey and Mick Gygax were 12th and the D team of Niall Buckley, Robert Walsh and Ciaran O’Coghligh finished 15th.

The senior women’s race was dominated by a crack UCD team winning out in 20:40. Rathfarnham were second some 39 seconds back with the UCD B taking bronze in 21:23. Fiona McKenna’s flying last lap of 4:56 the fastest of the day taking the team from fifth to third, making up some 24 seconds.

The Raheny team of Shannon Kelly, Niamh Kearney and Lucy Barrett took fifth place. The B team of Triona McDhomhnaill, Orla Manley and Sarah Dangher were 19th.

Finally the senior men’s race was the most competitive of the day, alas it did not go the Shamrock’s way. A fantastic opening two lap leg by Cillian Kirwan was followed by an excellent one lap by Juan Ignacio Pena handing over a narrow lead to Kieran Kelly.

Kelly however face two European individual medalist’s and a two time European indoor 3000m finalist on his leg.

By the time of the second lap UCD’s Darragh McElhinney and Clonliffe’s Efrem Gidney had taken control of the race. In fact it was Clonliffe who came home in a big finish to take gold with UCD second and Ennis Track third.

Mick Clohissey battled in the final leg but couldnt make up the ground as the Shamrock’s finished sixth.

The B team of Shane Spring, Andrew Condon, Andrew Hyland and Dylan O’Brien were 12th, the C team of Dara Mac Riocaird, Gavin Eccles, Robert Frewen and Christopher Hamill were 18th.

UCD lifted the Paddy Boland cup with six points, two ahead of the Shamrock’s on the day.

Many thanks to all club members who assisted and supported their club mates and helped us host the national road relays and bring Irish athletics to Raheny once more.

Photo’s available on our facebook page.

Congratulations to all the clubs and teams who won and took part as we work with everyone to continue to build the national road relays.