Ryan Creech And Ann Marie McGlynn Win 2023 AXA Raheny 5

Ryan Creech became the first Leevale athlete to win the AXA Raheny 5 in a dramatic victory.

Over 4,000 athlete’s took part on the day as the 39th AXA Raheny 5 was a huge success on it’s traditional last Sunday in January slot.

The men’s race saw a titanic battle with the top 10 men forming a break away group in the opening mile.

By the race’s four mile marker, it became a battle between Creech and Rathfarnham’s Mitchell Byrne, Creech countering a number of Byrne surges to claim the title in 23:53.

Byrne took second place in 23:58 with St Malachy’s Ben Branagh taking third place in 24:01. In all just 38 seconds separated the top 10 men.

The women’s race was as competitive as ever and saw Letterkenny’s Ann Marie McGlynn land her third AXA Raheny 5 title in 26:43.

McGlynn now joins Theresa Duffy (Beechmount Harriers), Maria McCambridge (DSD) and Mary Cullen (Sligo) as three time race winners.

Sorcha Nic Dhomhnaill (West Limerick) took second place in 27:03 followed by Leevale’s Sinead O’Connor in 27:14. Just 40 seconds separated the first five female athletes.

The Leevale team of Sinead O’Connor, Lizzie Lee and Carol Finn took victory with 30 points, 27 clear of the Raheny Shamrock team of Kate Purcell, Zoe Quinn and Annette Kealy. Sportsworld were third.

Clonliffe HarriersĀ  made a short trip to take the men’s title with a total of 32 points. Their team was Ian Guiden, Sean O’Leary and Niall Carbery.

Rathfarnham WSAF took second place with 31 points followed by Leevale with 76 points.

Full results are available on our results partner My Run Results

Many thanks to everyone who assisted in making the 2023 AXA Raheny 5 a great success.

Thank you to our sponsor AXA Insurance.

Our associate sponsor BWG

And our event partners:

Bear Events

My Run Results

Scoil Aine

Cara Hall

An Garda Siochana

Order of Malta

Sports Medic Ireland

Trophies Ireland